The Miami Times 2013-09-29 03:59:29

caines | 8/22/2012, 8:22 a.m.

A&M Celebrates 125th anniversary

Rattler spirit was in high gear Saturday, August 11th as the Miami-Dade Chapter of the Florida A&M University National Alumni Association hosted its 2012 Student Send-Off and 125th FAMU Anniversary Celebration at the Betty T. Ferguson Recreation Complex. The mistress of ceremony and program chair, alumni Miranda Y. Albury, opened the evening with a rousing version of the Rattler Charge. The chapter president Denetra Collins gave warm Rattler greetings, while Chapter Chaplain Baljean Smith rendered some grandfatherly advice to the students advising them to think for themselves and understand that greatness is expected and that failure is not an option. Alumni, Freddie S. Woodson, gave an official welcome. Always remember where you come from, represent yourself and you family, Woodson said. The excitement of the evening continued to build as Carmen Cummings-Martin, Executive Director, Office of Alumni Affairs introduced the speaker for the evening, Dr. William E Hudson, vice president student affairs. Adrian Freeman, scholarship chairman and co-chair Alandria Davis introduced the 2012 Miami-Dade scholarship recipients: Jerry Pierre, Darrius Albury- Williams, Nakia Foxworth, Agglamita Joseph, Daesha Flanders, Jonathan Hodge, Kamille Way, Breana Hunt, Kendra Adam, Quaneisha Washington, Tamahi Pollock, Quimara Romain. Imir Hall received the chapters first Mary Williams Woodard and Dr. Arthur Woodard Foundation Scholarship. In addition, City of Miami Gardens, Councilman David Williams Jr. awarded the first Annie R Neasman Scholarship to three science majors attending Florida A&M University: Marchae Starkey, Imani Spence and Breanne Brooks. The evening came to a crescendo as Grammy nominated spoken word artist Rebecca Butterfly Vaughns thrilled the audience with words of inspiration, dedication, reflection and perfection. She shared with the student three powerful words that could be found in the dictionary- Faith, Focus and Finish. The I AM FAMU alumni expressions of love and dedication for their beloved alma mater were given by; Betty T. Ferguson, City of Miami Gardens Mayor-Elect Oliver Gilbert, Cassandra Theremene, Elaina McCann, DeAnthony Friday and Vanessa Woodard-Byers. The culminating event of the event was the Torch and Pinning Ceremony officiated by President Wilson and Carmen Cummings-Martin. This year Florida A&M University celebrates its quasquisentennial, 125 years of educating with excellence. The torch, a replica of the Eternal Flame has been the talk of the town, traveling through out the United States, serving as a tool to help raise awareness, increase alumni involvement, raise funds for the university and encourage voter registration, said Wilson. The evening ended with the singing of the FAMU alma mater and a rousing Stevie Wonder rendition of Happy Birthday FAMU. Rattlers and supporters making the evening a success: International Longshoremen Association Local #1416, The Jessie Trice Community Health Foundation, State Representative Elect Shevrin Jones, Barbara Anders, Jimmie Anders, Winton Anders, Ruby Baker, Gloria Barry, Matther Beatty, Carisa Berkely, Amy Dawkins, Dr. Larry Clark, Verna Edington, James Fayson, Anthony Gregory, Carlton Jerkins, Robin Jones, Dr. Carrie Keys, Clydell Koon, Samuelle Legrand, Austin Monroe, Adrian Rodgers, Veronica Rahming, Thema Rolle, Michelle Sapp, Jake Simms, Naoimi Smith, Natasha Stubbs, Katie Turner, Leon Ward, Ronnie Willison and Arthur Woodard. The Miami-Dade Chaper of the Florida A&M University National Alumni Association welcomes all alumni for membership. Meetings are every third Saturday of the month, 10 a.m. at the African Heritage Cultural Arts Center, 6161 N.W.22nd Avenue. Stay connected to the Miami-Dade Chapter: www.facebook.com/famumiami www.twitter.com/MiamiFAMUAlumn The chapter hotline 305-761-8952