School Board joins international movement, honors scholars

admin | 6/21/2012, 5:30 a.m.

Students learn the stock market

Officials from the Miami-Dade County Public School Board passed several proposed items by School Board Chairwoman Perla Tabares Hantman last week that set an official date that will promote pedestrian awareness, honored a high school student who won a national writing competition and dubbed a local academy as School of the Year. The board voted on June 14th to join Walk to School Day, an international movement that promotes pedestrian safety. Miami-Dade County Public Schools will kick off the global event on Oct. 3rd joining more than 40 other countries walking and biking to school on the same day. The one-day event is the school board's latest effort to ensure that students have safe routes when traveling to school. School Board Chairwoman Perla Tabares Hantman proposed the idea to the county. "I am proud to bring forward an initiative that helps promote safety throughout the district for student pedestrians," she said. Students trump the competition The board also honored local students with stellar academic achievement including Jose Marti MAST Academy recognized as the Education, Merit and Inspiration [EMI] School of the Year; and several elementary and high school student winners who participated in the Stock Market Game Program [SIFMA] a national program where students research and evaluate stocks and compete to create the most engaging portfolio using a live trading simulation. First place winners of the elementary division include: Sofia Diaz; Nimrod Espinoza; Divany Gil from Miami Lakes k-8 Center. First and second place winners of the high school division include: Karol Diaz; Stephanie Castro; Tania Barberena; Monica Moniz-DeSilva; Sarahi Hassan; Melissa Gonzalez; Ashley Diaz; Brandon Gomez; Mario Alvarado; Daniela Garcia all from South Miami senior high. Anigladys Mesa, a senior at South Miami Senior high school, was also honored by the school board for winning first place in the state for InvestWrite a national writing competition produced by SIFMA. By Latoya Burgess lburgess@miamitimesonline.com