Chatter That Matters, March 21 - 27, 2012

admin | 3/22/2012, 5:30 a.m.

The Jacki Tuckfield Memorial Graduate Business Scholarship Fund (JTMGBSF) was established by her parents, Drs. Jack and Gloria Tuckfield, to honor the extraordinary life of their daughter, Jacki, who passed away at 25 and in the prime of her life. Fourteen years ago, her parents started the Miami Foundation which included T. C. Adderly, Rosalind Smith-Bond, Kenyatta D. Smith, Catherine A. Minnis, Emily Gresham, Dr. J.Preston and H. Wayne Huizenga School of Business and Joseph Pineda. The foundation recently celebrated the milestone of having provided $382,000 in tuition awards to recipients, plus more. More than 363 students have been assisted. For 2012, the 52 recipients of the fund include Latovia J. Greene, FAMU; Guirlande Jones, Donald Lindsay, Jomo Sankara, Ashra A. Whyte, FGCU; Jamilla D. Brooks, FIU; Adira A. Allen, Masheika E. Allen, Agnes W. Clarke, Nolege G. Pieree, Jaron Ulysses Nash, Alex E. Theresias, Terry S. Thompson, FMU; Chiquill S. Brown, Melissa P. Dunn, Rachaline S. Gaari, Mary Saddler, Katrelle D. Staten, FSU; Dominique Gehy, NOVA U; Kiesha L. Alexander, Emmanuel Carrie, Carlton A. Cunningham, Veronica M. Davis, Chiquite L. Dingle, Carol A. McCook Dixon, Siobhan A.Freeman, Cynthia Graham, Arlene A. Griffiths, Nancy Jean-Charles, Carmen M. Jones, Mzximilian Joselin, Kerry Olinia Lawrence, Regina Lynch, Christina D. McKinney, Victoria A. Milton, Thedly Nicolas, Angelina D. Person, Tania Grant, James J. Richardson, Brittney Robinson, Tara Joi Rumph, Sonia Telusnord, Vilus Telusnord, Stephanie Thomas, Willie H. Wood, Kimberly Wright, St. Thomas U; Hans C. Malebranche, Corey E. McCall, UCF: Sammee K. Ciomgs, UF and Dan Mathis,UM. Kudos go out to those who put on the traditional program featuring TC Adderly. The welcome was made by James B. Randolph andLisagaye Tomlinson, sang the theme song, Surely The Presence of the Lord Is In This Place; followed by Linda Burrowes, The Essence of Jacki, and Bea Hines, remembering Jacki in words and benediction by Randolph. The Egelloc Civic and Social Clubs Veronica Rahming, coordinator, announced the talent winners and Black History Project entries from last Thursday:First Place went to Michael J. Williams, president; Second Place to Leroy Parker and Third Place to Parris Webb II, while Honorable Mentions were presented to Antonia Harden, Maxwell Sampson, Melvin Tooks II, James McKenney and Bakari Wilder. Parents are still discussing the visitation at Ebenezer UMC and the presence of everyone who enjoyed a good service with Teresa Martin-Robinson directing the Voices of Praise Choir and Rev. Dr. Joreatha Capers preaching a spectacular sermon.Furthermore, activities are reaching the downward climb near the end with the females creating enthusiasm among the young men being taught the waltz, tango and cha, cha, cha. A special salute goes out to Coordinator Rochelle Lightfoot for preparing the Men Of Tomorrow for the talent show and the adjudicators, Larry Williams, Sherwood DuBose, Michael Emanuel, and Gary Mason. The winners will perform on the night of the presentation. In celebration of March being National Womens History Month, Thelma Gibson, Leome Culmer, and Dr. Enid C. Pinkney were honored at the American Legion Banquet room last Monday. Gibson was the first Black nurse to be hired at Jackson Memorial Hospitals Maternity Ward. She was also once an interim city commissioner and founded the Womans Chamber of Commerce. Pinkneys legacy began when she used her position as Student Government President to present Joe Louis to the student body at BTW, then the heavyweight champion of the world.She was even bold enough to ask him to donate $300 for band uniforms. He obliged and promised to write the check when he got back to his room at the Hampton House. Culmer, an historian of South Florida, wrote scripts for Black pioneers that were buried in the city cemetery. Others recognized at the service included: Charlotte Bannister, Merline Roberts, Natalia E. Lightbourn and Marie N. Mannings. Dorsey High School Alumni were in good spirits seeing President Baljean Smithreturn to their monthly meeting at Piccadilly in Hialeah. Thomas Albury, parliamentarian, was appointed by the president to conduct the meeting.Some of the alumni in attendance were: Thomas Albury, Louvona Robinson, Laurice Hepburn, Mary Bennett, Naomi Smith, Charles Adderly, Nellie Wilder, Sue Davis, Bettye Gibson, William Lee, Constance Pinkney, Charlie M. Scott Myer, Harry Dawkins, Betty Mackey, Ulysses S. Murror, Jr., George Heastie, Helen Austin, Joseph A.Young and Carliss and Odessa Cook. The next meetingis Monday, April 9th.