Chatter That Matters, May 2 - 8, 2012

admin | 5/3/2012, 5:30 a.m.

Lilly Queen Odom, president, and members of North Dade Jr/Sr. High celebrated their 50th anniversary last Wednesday at the newly-renovated Rusty Pelican in Key Biscayne. Presentwere: Winifred Beacham, registrar; staff members Wallace Riley Tinnie, MichelleTinnie, daughter, Ethel Ingram, Dr. Harold Guinyard, Dr. Edwin T. Demerittee, Lois H. Oliver, Margaret Miller; Agnes McCoy, PTA president; Juanita Matthews,Barbara Anders, OcteonC. Tullis, Alzeta Wilson; and coaches: John BoArnold,Vernon Wilder,Percy Oliver and Melvin Fox. Classmate Dr. Walter T. Richardson blessed the food. Dr. Lionel Reckley, Dr. John Johnson, Charles Stafford and Miami Gardens Mayor Shirley Gibson assisted. Odomcommended the teachers for preparing them to make an impact on society. The class of 61 gave everyone a bag of goodies and a copy of Reckleys book, On One Accord. Kudos to other classmates, Maria Reckley, Dr. Raymond Dunn, Bernard Thomas,Charles McCoy, Fr. Willie Sims and wife, Gwendolyn, Charles Sweeting and wife, Irene, Yvonne Barnes,Diane Simmons and President Odom.Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was pleased withDr. Enid C. Pinkneys commemorative service held last Sunday. Hostesses from the Buds of Spring were: Dosia Smith, Kyra Davis, Joy Ware, Chelsea Clark, Kamry Morency, Iranique Martin, and Kayla Harrell. Rhoer Club members present were: Bream McBride,Timya Taylor, Kiannia Mack,W. Doris Neal, Annette Brantly and Irene Handsford.Presentationof Buds of Spring is Saturday, May 2 beginning at 11 a.m. at the Gusman Center, University of Miami. For information call 305-691-0699. A special saluteto City of Opa-locka Commissioner Gail E. Miller, Deborah Sheffield-Irby and committee for the continuation ofthe Helen L. Miller Second Annual Scholarship Banquet last Saturday at the Don Shulers Golf and Ballroom in Miami Lakes.Students receiving awards were: Bria Brown, Monsignor Pace High School with a 4.8 GPA and the Helen Miller Scholarship Living The Dream in the amount of $1,500; The Senator Oscar Braynon Scholarship of Excellence went to Avery Jacobs, William H. Turner Technical Arts School with 3.8 GPA.Jacobs plans to attend Miami Dade College one one year and then hopes to play ball at the University of Virginia; Kandace Newry, Michael Krop High, received the Commissioner Barbara Jordan scholarship with a 4.6 GPA; The Waste Management Servicereceivedthe Corporate Humanitarian Award for 2012; Annie Ruth West received the Award of Inspiration; and Congresswoman Frederica S. Wilson received the Lifetime Achievement Award. She was in Washington, D.C. at protests supporting the family of Trayvon Martin. Substituting for her were RME James Brown, Mark Beckford and Katrina Wilson.Others in attendance included: Obi Nwesia, State NAACP secretary, Rev. Rogery Adams, Regina Miller who introduced her brother, the former Mayor Alvin Miller, who was the keynote speaker.Others included: Diane C. Darden, Bryan K. Finnie, Shamecea Lawson, Anita Harrell,Beverly Johnson, Town Center Properties, Opa-Locka Hialeah Flea Market, All Japanese Engines, Michelle Family LLLP, Harvey, Covington and Thomas, City Commissioner Oliver Gilbert III, Citrin Financial Group and Choice Environmental. Retirees meet between the hours of 5:30 and8:00 a.m., Mon. - Fri. at Arcola Lakes Park. Gladys Bracy Smith volunteers as secretary/treasurer. Other members are Mothers Mamie Williams and Ruby Allen, Marva and Bartow Duhart, Annie and Clint Harris, Daisy and Lucious Emmers, Inez and Roosevelt Rozier, Louise Rozier, Edward Rug Walker, Norma Coes, Sally Green, Brenda Hadley, Harry Jeffrey, Walter Kinsey, Caroline King, Stan Lawson, Josephine Morton, Gloria Orr, Deacon Robert Parker, Inez Rowe, Vandene Samuel, Dorothy Singleton, Rodine Strother, Robert Willis,Barbara Wright,Donald Wright,Virginia Wright, Millie B. White,Mozell Horn, Jimmie Harrell, Joe Down, Priscilla Rutledge, Bea Davis, Joe China and Clyde Witherspoon. The group celebrates birthdays quarterly at local restaurants. This past Friday, a fish fry was held at thepark with Treneice Henderson as manager. Exclusive news from Deborah Cidcelli, B-CU writer, who announced that the former board chairman for the universitys Trustee Board, Alumnus Larry Handfield, was retained as chairman effective May 13th.