BTW alumni honor living legends

caines | 5/24/2012, 6 a.m.

Amid an audience of over 300, nine outstanding and distinguished graduates of Booker T. Washington Senior High School walked the Orange and Black runway on Saturday, April 28th at the Eighth Annual Living Legends Orange and Black Scholarship Gala at the Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel. They were honored as a result of their exemplary careers and the significant impact they have made on our community and society. The nine distinguished 2012 Living Legends were: Rose Moorman, community service; Marcia J. Saunders, public service; Dr. Dorothy J. Fields, cultural; Dr. Whittington B. Johnson, education; Willie J. Warren, entrepreneurial; Dr. George K. Sands, health care; Charlie Mae S. Culpepper, philanthropy; Henry L. Weatherspoon, law enforcement; and General White, sports. Former Living Legends in attendance were: Enid Curtis Pinkney, Father Kenneth Major, Garth C. Reeves, Laurasteen Jones, Lucius H. King, Sr., Eunice J. Davis, James Hunt, Agnes Rolle Morton, Maud Newbold, Clement Minnis, Freddie Jabbo Johnson, Dr. Gay Outler, Dr. Herman Dorsett, Milton A. Hall, Dr. Hortense J. Hyche Jackson, Dr. Gladstone A. Hunter, Jr., Franklin Clark, Robert Thomas and Irvin Baulkman. Another highlight of the night: 12 graduating seniors received scholarships donated by community organizations, family memorials and the BTW Alumni classes. The recipients were: David Green, BTW Alumni Association; Charlie Harris, David F. Davis Memorial; Jahkaia Brooks, The Miami Times Scholarship; Fustine Saint-Aude, Wilhelmina F. Jennings Memorial Fund; Tysheera Lemon, Patricia Warren Memorial; Tanisha Bennett, BTW Class of 1960; Larry Mathis, BTW Class of 1961; Amirrashid Ali, BTW Class of 1962; Kevon Caffey, BTW Class of 1963; Famous McKinnon, BTW Class of 1966; and the BTW Alumni for assorted classes including Kenia Potosme and Callean Arvelo. Other BTW Alumni classes contributing to the scholarship fund included: (Gold Level) BTW Classes of 1959 and 1965, Inc.; (Silver Level) BTW Class of 1964, Alvin Walker, Washingtonians, Inc., Class of 6T5 and BTW Classes of 1951, 1954, 1955: (Copper Level) BTW Class of 1956 and Jabril Haqq-Willie James Kitchell Memorial. Outstanding community leaders who appeared on the program were Derrick Baker, program director of WEDR-FM 99 JAMZ; Rodney Baltimore, executive producer and co-host of Tom Joyner Morning Show, WHQT, Hot 105 FM; William Aristide, principal, BTW Senior High School; Treva Burke, Vicar James Leggett, Our Savior Lutheran and Dr. Edward G. Robinson, vice principal, BTW Senior High School. Roberta Daniels is president of the BTW Alumni Association, Inc. and Eunice J. Davis was chair of the Scholarship Gala and Awards Program. Financial support to the Alumni Association helps to support important school initiatives, enrich instructional support and provide scholarships to graduating seniors at Booker T. Washington Senior High School.