Young writers get scholarships from FLs Black journalists

caines | 11/8/2012, 5 a.m.

SFBJA, NABJ team up to encourage tomorrows reporters

Despite the earlier threats from what would become super-storm Sandy, the South Florida Black Journalists Association [SFBJA] honored five student journalists at its scholarship reception last Saturday (Oct. 27) at Florida International Universitys Biscayne Bay Campus.Pictured are: Dr. Raul Reis, the new dean of FIUs School of Journalism and Mass Communication (l-r); Viera Galloway and Melonne Mack, both from Florida Memorial University and Dwight Lauderdale Scholarship recipients; Terence Shepherd SFBJA president; Adrianne Richardson, a 2012 graduate of William H. Turner Technical Arts High School and current student at FIU, who received the Rochelle Bridges Memorial Scholarship and the Miami Herald Multimedia Scholarship; Katrina Lowe, a senior at FIU who earned SFBJAs endowed scholarship at the university; and Greg Lee, NABJ president and executive sports editor atthe South Florida Sun Sentinel. Miami Times photo/Craig Uptgrow