County leaders, students honored at 2012 Pillars Awards

caines | 10/25/2012, 5:30 a.m.

[gallery link="file" orderby="title"] The Miami-Dade County Black Affairs Advisory Board held its 12th annual Pillars Award on Saturday, Oct. 20, honoring community pillars that often work behind the scenes for the good of the County and three college students with impressive academic goals that are already giving back to others [Young Pillars]. Community pillars included: Dr. Erhabor Ighodaro, Isis Roberts, Al West, Leroy Jones, Ronald Fulton, Dr. Ted Greer, Jr., Awa Lodmell, Rev. Carl Johnson and Valerie Riles. Student recipients included: Alexis Currh-Hibbert, Candyce Wright, Jordan Byrd, Chrystal Parker and Mia Long.