Chatter That Matters: April 24, 2013

caines | 4/25/2013, 5:30 a.m.

The Greater Miami Chapter of Continental Societies, Inc. held their Twenty-fifth Anniversary Gala last Friday. The event chaired by Margaret H. Moss and Dr. Gloria Brown was in support of children and the community was indeed generous. The prepared journalwas a memoriam forSenator Larcenia J. Bullard and also included the charter members installed in 1988 by Dr. Lois Harrison-Jones, national president; Edna Calhoun, national membership chairperson; and Jeanne Byrd, Atlanta chapter president. Also, VashtiArmbrister and Earlene P. Dotson were credited for organizing the Greater Miami Chapter.They recruited a group of enterprising and innovative Christian women who wanted to make a positive impact in the lives of children. These thirteen women of varied professional background, representing noble character and unrelenting determination, pledged to foster, promote and develop the welfare of disadvantaged and underprivileged children in the greater Miami area. Mattie J. Williams presently serves as president. Past presidents include: Dr. Earlene P. Dotson, Jewel Thomas-Walker, Christa Dotson Dean, Barbara Carr, Juanita Franklin and Charlene Hill.Their programs include: HEER- Health Education Employment-Arts and Humanities, Space Camp at the Kennedy Center, Scrabble Club, Annual Toy Giveaway, Annual Backpack/Supplies Giveaway, Shoe drive and the Continental Leadership Academy. Some of the distinguished guests were: Al Dotson, Commissioner DennisMoss, James Moss, Eldrick Williams, Fredrick Fred Ingram and Dr. Gail Brown. Congratulations go out to Dr. Enid C. Pinkney, founder, African American Committee of Dade Heritage Trust; Leome Culmer and Angela Culmer, historians; Anita McGruder and Retha Boone-Fye; Maude Newbold; and membership forprovidingthe Twentieth Annual Commemorative Service and The Fifth Youth Talent On Parade honoring Lee Bryant, an African American Incorporator; City of Miami/Biscayne Park, Commissioners Michelle Spence-Jones and Audrey M. Edmonson; Beckey R. Matkoa and Ronnie Hurwitz. Winners of the essay contest were: Kara Powell, Jasmine Johnson, Milayla Mims, Keona Ashley, Jerry Jean Baptiste, Tonya Dollard, Wayne Holmes, ShamaccusCarr, Evans Ellison and Antonisha Johnson. Talent winners were: Jacquan J. Cannon, guitar; Franklin F. Sands III, trumpet; Deyonn Daniels, reading; Kayla J. Curtis, piano selection; Sean Watts, trumpet, Dwayne Holloway; Isaiah Williams, liturgical dance; and Troy A. Duffie, keyboard. Two important activities coming upthat you shouldnt miss: Egelloc Social and Civic Club, Men Of Tomorrow Sat., April 27, 11 a.m. at Parrot Jungle.And, The King Of Clubs Of Miami Scholarship Banquet, Sunday, May 5th, at the DoubleTree Hotel. Call 305-691-3209 for more information.