Anna Sweeting | 8/7/2013, 1:58 p.m.

Miamians were saddened to learn of the death of Ernest Sidney. Deepest sympathy is extended to his wife Ethel Pearl, sister Nancy


Anna Sweeting

Dawkins and neice Martha Clayton Day. Deepest sympathy to all of you. Also our deepest sympathy goes out to the Finley family who lost three relatives last week. Sisters Jacquelyn Finley- Livingston, Helen Finley-Spires and Audrey Finley. Shalisa Gee was in Miami last week from Atlanta to visit her mom Gayle and aunt Anna-Grace. (My other niece and her family also lives in Atlanta with her husband LaCorrie and three sons and also my brother Ivern.)

Deltas from Miami-Dade County traveled to Washington, DC, the founding place of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., to attend their 51st National Convention which marked the sorority’s centennial amidst over 40,000 sorors and guests from July 11-17. Joining the historic celebration were Dade County Alumnae Chapter’s newly-installed president, first vice-president and 2nd vice-president respectively: Karen Wiggins, Flora Jackson-Holmes and Toni Harrison. The Miami Alumnae Chapter was represented by President Brenda Bryant and Vice-President Kay Dawson, along with Gay Outler, Mona Jackson, Shirlyon McWhorter, Mazie Storr, Cupidine Dean, Linda Rogers, Shirley Williams, Rosa Harvey, Sandra Powell, Peggy Green and Helen Gay. Charter members of the Dade County Alumnae Chapter included: Juanita Lane, Dorothy Saunders, Marcia Saunders, Bobbie Bowen, Margaret Baulkman, Martha Day and Maud Newbold along with past presidents, Angela Bellamy, Nadine Gay-Bendross, Renee Jones, Karen Bullard-Jordan, Anne Herriot, Evelyn Davis, Bobbie Phillips-Wilfork, Rubye Howard and Janice Hopton. Miami-Dade County Commissioner Audrey Moss Edmonson and School Board Member Dorothy Mindingall have already made plans to continue implementing the sorority’s initiatives towards “A sisterhood called to serve: Transforming lives, Impacting communities.” The centennial celebration was inspiring for some of the “Delta line of 99” sorority members as they witnessed the opening ceremony. Present were: Cheree Gulley, Shi-Mei Everette, Delphine Gervais, Monique Spence, Sheria Edwards, Krystal Dobbins, Laila Brock, Natasha Ashley, Trenyce McCoy, Lisa Jones, Nyree Washington, Shekeitha Ritchie, Lillian Thompson, Nikki Cannon, Brittany Phillips, Renita Samuels-Dixion, Dr. Annette Gibson, Dr. Lenora Yates, Charlenia Ruthland, Rhoda Shirley, Judith Case, Antoinette Symonette, Cynthia Barnum, MaShenna Herring, Tamara Fuller and Joyce Postell.