Junior varsity team snags NFL Flag National title

caines | 2/21/2013, 4:30 a.m.

Dolphins take the trophy in New Orleans finals

En route to the programs first ever NFL Flag National Championship, the Jr. Varsity Dolphins were a team possessed.Once they set foot on the field they played with the heart, passion and tenacity of a team that didnt know what it was to be stopped. They learned from past failures and defeated a team that had beaten them earlier in the tournament. This group of inner city kids played their hearts out and displayed the skills of true champions. The Junior Varsity Dolphins are the first all-Black team in the 10-year history of the NFL Flag Football National Championships to win the championship. The tournament took place in New Orleans, during the week of Super Bowl XLVII. The NFL Flag Football National Championships are one of the most prestigious events in youth sports. The NFL Flag travels to eight different NFL cities for qualifying regional tournaments across the U.S. There are three age divisions: 9-11 Coed, 12-14 Girls and 12-14 Boys. Only one team from each age division at each regional tournament advances to the NFL Flag Nationals. The city of Miami Mighty Dolphins had two teams to qualify for the 2012-13 NFL Flag Nationals. Miamis Dolphins was founded and established in 2009 by Haiven Kornbluth. The program has evolved from three travel teams to five travel teams, the Baby Dolphins (6U), Little Dolphins (8U), Junior Dolphins (10U), Jr. Varsity Dolphins (12U) and the Varsity Dolphins (14U). The team operates and practice out of the City of Miami Moore Park, located at 765 NW 36th Street. The Mighty Dolphins youth flag football club has captured 16 youth flag football National Championships: four USFTL (U.S. Flag and Touch League) National Championships, five AAU (Amateur Athletic Union) National Championships and seven Let It Fly World Championships. The Jr. Varsity Dolphins finished the tournament 5-1 and faced eight-times NFL Flag National Champions Mo Steel from North Miami Beach. The Jr. Varsity Dolphins defeated the Mo Steel Juniors With a final score of 27-7 to take home the 2012-2013 NFL Flag Football National Championship Title. The team was led by Quarterback Dextan Hodge who had a great supporting cast of Tavares Kelly, Ilias Clerisier, Darius Colbert, Javaris Ragin, Marvin Anthony, Andrew Reese and Willie Bentley. The City of Miami Varsity Dolphins was honored as the 2012-2013 Houston Texans (12-14 Boys) Regional Champions. Team members included: Keissac Hill, Alexander Stallings, Desmond Fairell, Sharod Johnson, Darnell Durham III and Kaywon Hannah. The Varsity Dolphins finished third in the (12-14 Boys Division) at the 2012-13 NFL Flag Nationals. By Haiven Kornbluth