Chatter That Matters: February 27, 2013

caines | 2/28/2013, 4:30 a.m.

Anthony and Caroline Simons flew to Nassau, Bahamas last week to help Aubrey L. Fernander celebrate his 90th birthday sponsored by The International Swimming Hall of Fame. Joining in the celebration were his wife, Maude Fernander, and children: Audrey W. Rolle, Juliet (and Glen Miller), Laverne (and James McSwain-Hanover), Gregory Fernander and Kevin. Fernander was also joined by his siblings and their spouses: Almeria Pinder, Marline and John Dorsett and Arline Dorsett. Dr. Enid C. Pinkney returned from Exuma to be the mistress of ceremonies for the Black history banquet observed by the Church of God of Prophecy. Barbara Brown and Dr. Allen Strachan served as coordinators. The program opened with Anquette Wray followed by Micah Clark and Minister Carl Bannister. Guests were treated to performances by Echoes of Praise Choir from Miramar, Rose Curtis, the Inspiration Choir, Higher Calling Dance Group, David Sweeney, Keya Curtis, Roshana Livingston, T & T Dancers, Patrice Mozell, Ridgeway Drama Group and the Rainbow Choir. Sharon Gallimore gave her father, Commissioner Timothy Holmes, a surprise birthday celebration last Saturday at the Don Shula Restaurant. Some of the guests were Patsy Williams, Cheryl Cason, Janet Smith, Mr. and Mrs. Sanchez, Debra Bell, Doreen Barhan, Regine Gallimore, Jr., Robert Gallimore III, Bishop Nathaniel Holmes, Priscilla Holmes, Bishop Juntor, Priscilla, Lorraine and Martha Thompson, George and Dewey Jackson, Celeste and Sherman Wilder, Dave Shipman, Steve Bullock, James Smith, Arthur and Deborah Johnson and Jean Dixon. President Veronica Rahming of The Egelloc Civic and Social Club and Mary Ann Thomas McCloud, coordinator of the Men Of Tomorrow, announced the 2013 officers and participants for the The Men of Tomorrow. They are: Dwayne Holloway, president; Isaiah Williams, vice president; Troy Duffie, second vice president; Gregory White, recorder; Travis Hall, chaplain; Justin White, assistant chaplain; and participants Albert Smalls, Berric Dailey, David Cheesborough, David Harris, Jeffery Brown, Michael D. Smith, Jr., M. Frederick, R. Walker, Sean Watts, S. McMurray, T. Darling, K. Pla, R. Bain and J. Addison. By Dr. Richard Strachan