Chatter That Matters: May 8, 2013

caines | 5/9/2013, 5:30 a.m.

Veronica D. Rahmings, president, Mary Ann Thomas, coordinator, 2013 Men Of Tomorrow, and members are commended for presenting Sixteen 11th grade young men to society last Saturday, at the Parrot Jungle on Watson Island. The 2013 MOT began their journey in September, 2012 and completed their training in September, 2013. at the presentation they were rewarded with a certificate, and an engraved silver bracelet. Their female guests also received a gift. MOT winners of the competitions were Sean M. Watts, Dwayne T. Holloway , Troy A. Duffie, Stirling McMurray and Gregory W. Wright, II in Showcase of Talent Awards. Black Heritage Awards included: Sean Watts, Troy Duffie, Gregory Wright, David Cheesborough and Justin D. White. Essay Awards went to Sean Watts, Gregory Wright, Kwame Pla and Stirling McMurray: Business Ingenuity Awards went to Troy Duffie, Sean Watts, Albert Smalls, Jeffrey Brown, Jr. and Gregory Wright, II. The sixteen Men of Tomorrow were attired in white tuxedos with a yellow rose in their lapels.The young ladies complemented them with colorful pastel gowns. They performed their traditional routines and allowed Dwayne Holloway to choreograph routines from his favorite: Michael Jackson Tribute. He received a standing ovation and made his family and grandfather Dr. Wilbert T. Holloway proud. Congratulations to all. The Dade County Chapter of The Charmettes, Inc., with Dr. Mia Y. Merritt, president, Dr. Ivis Mickell Richardson, vice-president, Tara J. Paramore, and membership selected their Bridge Builders for 2013. Bishop James D. Adams, Ted Lucas, Woodie Lesesne, Judith Barnes,Trina Robinson, Dr. Edwin Demeritt, and T. Willard Fair. Ebony J. Jackson is literally building a legacy through her work and genuine love of helping others. Candice S. Davis was the scholarship recipient. Dr. Edwin T. Demeritte was supported by his family: Bishop Emeritus Arnold Demeritte and Daisy Maebelle Demeritte, Fruits of The Saints, Deacon Herman and Minister Lorna Brown, and Earl L. Evans, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity. Other guests included: Mr. and Mrs. Decarlo A. and Family,Members of The King of Clubs of Greater Miami, Deacon Franklin Clark, Hazel La Fleur, Thomas-Rolle, members from Hampton House Community Trust, Church of God of Prophecy #1, Rev. Richard P. Dunn/Faith Community Church, The Noward Dean Family, Kendrick J. Dean, Minister Dewey Missick and Family, Bishop Arthur and Sister Maebell Wilson, Sr. and Bishop Arthur and Sister Paula Wilson,Jr. The souvenir book was dedicated to Charmette Marjorie McCray-Fleureme, 1965-2013. By Dr. Richard Strachan