Jordan honors Opa-locka AARP members

Group wins Florida Chapter of the Year Award

9/26/2013, 9 a.m.

During the recent Miami-Dade Board of County Commission meeting, Commissioner Barbara J. Jordan honored the Opa-locka Chapter of the AARP for winning the 2012 Florida Chapter of the Year Award. The organization, which is headed by Connie Dupree, purchases books and school supplies for underprivileged children. They also participate in health fairs, help monitor medications, plan for long-term care and help prevent identity theft for their members.

“This chapter has risen and surpassed the expectations of AARP,” Jordan said. “They are an active group of seniors and clearly deserve this honor.”

The AARP was founded by Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus in 1958 to build a group of older residents who advocate on behalf of the members of the American Association of Retired Persons through local activism and legislation at the state and federal levels. Dr. Andrus’ motto: “We should seek to serve, not to be served.”