Northwestern alums to be inducted into school Hall of Fame

9/26/2013, 9 a.m.

The Miami Northwestern Alumni Association will hold it annual induction ceremony and banquet for 2013 Alumni Hall of Fame honorees on Saturday, Sept. 28, at 7 p.m. at the school, 1100 NW 71st Street. Honorees are inducted into one of two categories — service and athletics.

This year’s service inductees are: Dr. Shelby Chipman, 1982; William E. Clark, 1966; Raejean Howard-Lee, 1974; State Representative Cynthia Stafford, 1985; William Thurston, 1975, Larry Williams, 1974; and Traci Young-Byron, 1997.

Athletic inductees include: Vernon Carey, 1999; Olrick Johnson, Jr., 1995; Dewey Knight II, 1982; and William Wilcox, 1967. Also being honored are two coaches who have impacted the lives of generations of Miami Northwestern alumni: Coach Roger Coffey and Coach Carmen Jackson.

This will also be a special night of recognition for the two people who are credited with creating and continuing the legacy of the Miami Northwestern Alumni Association — Nathaniel “Spooky” Miller and Sallie Bradshaw-Williams.