Iota Phi Lambda lauds locals

Gigi Tinsley | 5/1/2014, 9 a.m.

On Sunday afternoon at New Covenant Presbyterian Church, 4300 NW 12 Ave., families and friends turned out in large groups to witness their love ones being honored for the great things they have done in and for their communities.

Ronrica “Ronnie” Morgan, the “Soror of the Year-2013-2014 and the mistress of ceremony was introduced by her mother, Nikki Young, the Iota Phi Lambda Sorority Gamma Alpha Chapter’s chairlady of the National Business Month Celebration and former president of Gamma Alpha Chapter.

“The aim of Iota is to bring local business and professional women together, to collectively strive for a sisterhood of economic empowerment,” Young said. “We work with six grade girls and boys-Gems and Gents-instructing them on becoming assets to their communities. The Gems and Gents and their families are presented to society in a formal setting called Iphilam Phantasia.”

The 32nd annual Iphilam Phantasia presented by Gamma Alpha Chapter will be held Saturday, May 10 at Carol City Middle School Auditorium, 3737 NW 188th St. at 6 p.m.

The program started with a musical interlude by Max the One Man Band (Kenneth Maxwell) and everyone proclaimed by the repeated cascades of applauds, what a sensation he is. His musical selections throughout the program included: He’s a Miracle Worker, It’s Going to Be Alright, and Behold He Comes (Riding on A Cloud).

Presentation of awards

The categories, honorees and presenters were as follows: Business Woman of the Year, Jamila Powell, Esquire and owner of Weaves, Etc., Ms. Helen Reed; Business Man of the Year, Douglas Reed, D & N Sports, Mrs. Drabina Washington; Business Firm of the Year, Ms. Shirlene Ingraham, Jackson’s Soul Food, last years awardees, Mr. and Mrs. Ricky Brantley.

Special Recognition was given to the following individuals by category and presenters:

Outstanding Community Service, Geraldine “Gerri” Owens,

Richard Holton, Ph.D, and Rodney Baltimore, presented by Morgan, Young and Betty Hicks.

Outstanding Achievement, Miami-Dade Police Department, Director J.D. Patterson Jr.

Three civic organizations were recognized and given awards: Egelloc Civic and Social Club, Mrs. Veronica Rahmings, president award received by Mary Ann Thomas, Mrs. Nancy Dawkins president emeritus asked that their award be presented to The AARP Group at their next meeting; and The King of Clubs of Greater Miami, Inc., Richard Strachan, Ph.D. Their presenters were: Leola Adams, JoAnn Jones and W. Doris Neal.

Other officers of Gamma Alpha Chapter, besides the presenters are: Ivis Richardson, Ph.D, president; Vannie Barr-Fisher, vice president; Mary Dunn, 2nd vice-president; O. Leanne Smith, recording secretary; Winifred Beacham, assistant recording secretary; Corliss Sellers, financial secretary; Hattie Burnett, treasurer; Bertha Cason, chaplain; Denise Miller-Marsh, Sgt-at-Arms; members: Albertha Barry, Thelma Burnett, Effie Culmer, Willie P. Galloway, Lorraine Jordan, Juanita Matthews, Anna Mitchell, Mildred Moore and Franciel W. Tooks.