Booker T. Washington Alumni Living Legends Gala awards 17 scholarships

Special to the Times | 5/8/2014, 9 a.m.
Amid an audience of over 300, nine outstanding and distinguished graduates of Booker T. Washington Senior High School walked the ...

Amid an audience of over 300, nine outstanding and distinguished graduates of Booker T. Washington Senior High School walked the “Orange Carpet” on Sat. April 12 at the Annual Living Legends’ Orange and Black Scholarship Gala, at the Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel. They were honored as a result of their exemplary careers and the significant impact they have made on our community and society. The nine distinguished 2014 Living Legends were: Delores D. Hills, Community Service; Linda M. Rogers, Public Service; Dr. Mary L. Hylor Cultural; Roberta Daniels, Education; Reginald Burton, Entrepreneurial; Dr. Herman Allen, Health Care; James McCray, Law Enforcement; Nathaniel Ray, Sports, and Damas Petit, Youth.

Former Living Legends in attendance were: Enid Curtis Pinkney, Garth C. Reeves, Laurasteen Jones, Lucius H. King Sr.; Eunice J. Davis, James Hunt, Agnes Rolle Morton, Maud Newbold, Clement Minnis, Dr. Herman Dorsett, Dr. Gladstone A. Hunter Jr., Franklin Clark, Robert Thomas, Irvin Baulkman, Paulette Martin, Cecelia Hunter, Bea Hines, John Glover, Alexander Sampson, Rose Moorman, Dr. Dorothy Fields, Marcia Saunders, Dr. Whittington Johnson, Willie Warren, Charlie Mae Culpepper, General White and David Robinson, Esq.

Another highlight of the night: 17 graduating seniors received scholarships donated by community organizations, family memorials and the BTW Alumni classes. The recipients were: Melissa Fils-Aime, BTW Alumni Association; David F. Davis Memorial, Mohammad Dibci; The Miami Times Scholarship, Trinicia Hobbs; Charles Lamar Mobley Memorial, Ashley Jeanty; The Laura Jones Scholarship, Kelsey Glover; The Marilyn F. Bellamy Scholarship, De’Andra Sherwood; Patricia Warren Memorial, Teresita Gonzalez; The Stanley Squire Scholarship, Loida Velasquez; BTW Class of 1959, Kay Edwards; BTW Class of 1960, Breann Haugabook; BTW Class of 1962, Jamir A. Miller; BTW Class of 1963, Richie Revere; BTW Class of 1964, Rashad Revere; BTW Class of 1965, Inc., Rebeka Fils-Aime; BTW Class 1965, Inc. Demetrius Jackson,; BTW Class of 1966, Damas Petit; BTW Alumni, Inc. Association, for assorted classes: Liurys Alvarez.

Other BTW Alumni classes and supporters contributing to the scholarship fund were: (Gold Level) Rose Marie Gooden Memorial, (Silver Level): BTW Class of 1951, BTW Class of 1961 and BTW Class of 1955 (Copper Level) The Newbold Dynasty.

Vickie Frazier-Williams, former news anchor for WPLG TV channel 10, was the outstanding emcee for the evening.

Roberta Daniels is the president of the BTW Alumni Association, Inc. and Eunice J. Davis was chair of the Scholarship Gala and Awards Program. Financial support to the Alumni Association helps to support important school initiatives, enrich instructional support and provide scholarships to graduating seniors at Booker T. Washington Senior High.